Our winning team for the 2018 elections

             Andrew_Wade_head.jpg  Rose.png  Andrew_Wade_head.jpg

             Paul_McNamara_head.jpg  Jemima_Laing_head.jpg  GGJD_7247_.JPG



A hotel kitchen porter, a retired Royal Navy Commodore, a journalist and a PhD student are amongst the 19 candidates Labour has chosen to fight the 19 council seats up for grabs on Thursday May 3rd.

Labour Group Leader Tudor Evans has called the team “the most representative team we’ve ever picked, from all walks of life, right across our city.”

Paul McNamara is a legendary volunteer with Plymouth Labour and has already knocked on nearly every door in the Compton seat he is contesting. He works as a kitchen porter at a major city centre hotel.

Paul says “I am delighted to be contesting a seat that adjoins Mutley Plain, which Labour plans to revive if it takes back control of the Council. There are too many closed shops in an area that has served Plymouth very well through changing times.”

Jemima Laing has worked as a journalist for many years, is a qualified solicitor and is a board member of the PATH housing charity. She also serves as a school governor.

Pam Buchan is a mentor for the Social Mobility Foundation, is a trustee of a marine charity and is studying for a PhD and runs a small business. She is hoping to knock out the former UKIP leader in Honicknowle.

Former Commodore Gareth Derrick will contest Ham. His final appointment was in command of the Royal Navy and Royal Marines Reserve forces and he is a former submariner. Gareth stood for Labour in the recent Police and Crime Commissioner elections against controversial figure Alison Hernandez.

Facing Council Leader Ian Bowyer will be retired council manual worker Andrew Wade. Andrew thinks “people in Eggbuckland and across the city are sick and tired of a Conservative-led council that is hiking our council tax while cutting council services.”

The list includes a number of sitting councillors who are looking to hold on to their seats when Plymouth goes to the polls on the first Thursday in May. They include Cllr Mary Aspinall, Cllr Sally Bowie and Cllr Sue McDonald.

Labour Group Leader Cllr Tudor Evans said: “This list of candidates is great because the best of Plymouth is here. We’ve got private business owners, public sector staff, manual workers, professional people and retired people. We’ve got new faces full of enthusiasm and love for the city, and a few experienced hands who can show them the ropes and help them to get things done. We all want to do our bit to make Plymouth a better place.”


Full list of Plymouth Labour candidates for the 2018 local elections

  • Budshead: Jill Narin
  • Compton: Paul McNamara
  • Devonport: Cllr Bill Stevens #
  • Drake: Margaret Corvid
  • Efford and Lipson: Cllr Neil Hendy #
  • Eggbuckland: Andrew Wade
  • Ham: Gareth Derrick
  • Honicknowle: Pamela Buchan
  • Moor View: Jemima Laing
  • Peverell: Jeremy Goslin
  • Plympton Chaddlewood: Janet Wise
  • Plympton St Mary: Rob de Jong
  • Plymstock Dunstone: David Owen
  • Plymstock Radford: Vince Barry
  • St Budeaux: Cllr Sally Bowie #
  • St Peter and the Waterfront: Cllr Sue McDonald #
  • Southway: Cllr Jonny Morris #
  • Stoke: Kevin Neil
  • Sutton and Mount Gould: Cllr Mary Aspinall #

# indicates sitting councillor